Book Clubbing, We’re book clubbing

June 6, 2006

Josh and Cody and I decided to start a book club at the beginning of the summer. The idea was to start the summer out right, and do something productive. Plus, we'd discuss the books over drinks or lunch, so we'd get a handy social engagement out of it. We choose Dr. Jeckyl and Mr. Hyde as our first book. The first meeting went as expected: Josh did his reading at about 2 am the night before, I read mine the morning of, and Cody read 10 pages and came to lunch fully prepared to talk about those ten pages. That was ok, because Columbia cottage didn't seem to want any of our business and rushed us out of there. 

We choose "Notes from the Underground" as the second book, but we haven't set a date to meet, and something tells me we never will now that Cody's on a road trip and I'll be going back to Chicago. Plus, Josh just started his own blog.

This leads me to believe that I need more stability in my book club mates. I think I may have found it.

I read Zadie Smith's "White Teeth" over the last week (more to come on WT), inadvertantly stumbling on the book club choice of a woman whose son I tutor. I'm considering joining their book club. We're going to read "Beloved" next. My thoughts are that 40-year-old business women are probably more responsible than 22-year-olds. I could be completely wrong though. Most book clubs are probably just for show. Something you say to impress people, like "I have that album on vinyl" or "I saw 'Rumor Has It' opening weekend." The only book club that really works is the Oprah book club, and that's only because no one wants to a) feel lost during their favorite TV show, and b) miss an episode of Oprah. 

So, in other words, I'll probably just read "Everyman" which is sitting on my bookshelf as we speak, or watch Food Network On Demand and live vicariously through Morimoto. 

Leave a Reply

