Yesterday’s presidents: the Green edition

February 19, 2007

When Mandrake and I tackled the issue of which past president should be leading America, we (certainly I)  looked at the question from the P.O.V. of ending/dealing with our involvement in Iraq and our forgotten mission in Afghanistan. Only Mandrake really picked a president on the basis of environmental policy, Jimmy Carter; I had one on my list, TR, but picked him because of his Military record. Thankfully, other folks are looking into the issue. Treehugger has a poll asking Americans who they believe was the best President for the environment. Mandrake and I each have picks on the list (Carter and TR respectively); they’re joined by Thomas Jefferson, LBJ, Nixon, Clinton, and Bush (a joke, I’m sure, but currently garnering 4% of the vote–probably a result of Diebold vote-switching equipment). I’d have to say that I’d cast my vote for TR, with Carter a close second. Roosevelt preserved countless swaths of this country when he founded the National Forest Service, and National Bird Center. Carter earns a bonus though for having to consider energy as a geopolitical issue, but keeping the American wilderness from robber-barons leads my to vote for Roosevelt. Clinton’s done good work with the CGI, but his record as president is less impressive.

Hopefully, president Gore will blow them all away.

Leave a Reply

