Blog Envy

February 21, 2007

Sometimes I feel a little envious of the bigger blogs out there. Sometimes I feel that making the transition from quite minor internet phenomenon to minor internet phenomenon would justify my existence in this blogosphere.

[btw, I checked our good friend the OED to find out when “blogosphere” entered the dictionary, and to whom they attribute agency. Well, guess what; it’s not in the OED. Thankfully wikipedia provides the answer to my initial question, but the lacuna that is blogosphere has of course given rise to newer quandaries. The wikipedia article gives credit to brad graham for the invention of blogosphere. Similarly, the OED gives him credit for “blog” (or ‘weblog-n2’) itself: 1999 http://www.bradlands.com (weblog diary) 23 May, Cam points out lemonyellow.com and PeterMe decides the proper way to say ‘weblog’ is ‘wee’- blog’ (Tee-hee!). Still, I don’t know why the OED added “cross-party, adj: of or relating to two or more political parties” and not blogosphere. ]

Actually, now that I know that there is no such thing as a blogosphere, I don’t feel so bad. I also stumbled upon an interesting article about journal publications that seems pertinent. In, “An Examination of the Reliability of Prestigious Scholarly Journals: Evidence and Implications for Decision-Makers,” Andrew Oswald argues that , “it is far better to publish the best article in an issue of a medium-quality journal like the Oxford Bulletin of Economics and Statistics than to publish the worst article (or often the worst 4 articles) in an issue of a top journal like the American Economic Review. Implications are discussed.” In other words, the work we do here at the Salad is far more important than much of the work done at more prestigious blogs.

