Useful travel tips!!!

November 2, 2007

Hello, before I start this, my second post, I would like to introduce myself.  I write about travel here at Yesterday’s salad, so feel free to contact me with any and all travel questions such as, “what is the hip gay area in Sydney?”  But also, “is it rude to blow my nose in Mongolia?” (you’ll be shot!).

Before talking too much about my own travel experiences though, I want to give some tips to the solo traveller. 

There is never any reason to be rude, even to this man.  Miss Manners says, and I agree, that rudeness in  is not an opportunity to “tell someone how it is”, but to exhibit self respect and dignity.  That means you can only laugh once you are out of ear shot.

And though this man displays little concern for societal rules or cleanliness, he is right in that it is important never to be cross anyone off your conversation list. By talking to as many people as possible when travelling you can learn all sorts of interesting things.  For example, naif that I was and didn’t know, cab drivers hang those dangly things from their mirrors in order to take the passenger’s eye off the road.

By being friendly and leaving your attitude at passport control you are also likely to find good insider tips on where to go, like “all the prostitutes on the street go to this salon.”  However!  Safety is most important so don’t put good manners above your sense of security.  Who are you travelling with?  Your older brother, who has lived in the area for years and is a security guard and/or professional athlete.  Where did you grow up?  All over, but most of your childhood was spent in Rio/Bogota/Detroit.  What is your last name? Montoya/West/Penn.

 Lastly, don’t hug too many strangers, you’ll get your watch stolen.  Enjoy and happy travels!

4 Responses to “Useful travel tips!!!”


  1. […] unknown wrote something that might interest you todayHere’s a brief breakdown Hello, before I start this, my second post, I would like to introduce myself.  I write about travel here at Yesterday’s salad, so feel free to contact me with any and all travel questions such as, “what is the hip gay area in Sydney?”  But also, “is it rude to blow my nose in Mongolia?” (you’ll be shot!). Before talking too much about my own […]

  2. Isaac Says:

    “it is important never to be cross anyone off your conversation list”

    This is magnificent! It’s like those fun word games back when I was a kid that looked like this:

    Double ______ Pancakes

    and you were supposed to fill in “Dutch” because it fits both words in different ways. You have used cross to fulfill two of its meanings (Dash, help me out here!!).

    As far as I can tell you first have the sentence “it is important never to be cross”, utilizing “cross (adj.) 4: marked by typically transitory bad temper”.

    Then, you switch gear and say “cross anyone off your conversation list”, which from context seems to imply the use of “cross (verb) 3: to cancel by marking a cross on or drawing a line through : strike out”.

    Both of them are legitimate concerns that a travel writer might have!

    I like 🙂

  3. alguma Says:

    Exactly what I meant! It must be all that Wheel of Fortune that I watch (through osmosis only, of course). They have the puzzle category “before and after,” which is exactly what you described with the pancakes. I’m trying to think of some other good ones but am having trouble and all I have so far is “Keith____River.”

  4. Doug Says:

    Thanks for sharing these great thoughts. I’m bookmarking this for future reference. Some of these I already do, so the point resonated most strongly with me. Keep feeding the creativity.
    I am currently on holiday so, for this reason, I’ve nothing better to do than surf the web for travel ideas, lie around and update my blog. Well, more or less anyway.
    Doug C


Leave a Reply

