Derek Jeter Just Wants You To Listen to the Power of Love

August 15, 2008

Actually, I don’t know if that’s true. But, I do need to report that rumors of Derek Jeter visiting Austin are true. While visiting the legendary Bryan from Cake City and Hash Browns…and Toast!, said Bryan and I went to the Austin Four Seasons where we were told that Derek Jeter was there with some very attractive women. I did a once over of the room, and sure enough he was there. About 20 minutes later I decided to actually say something to him. For no reason whatsoever, I had “Huey Lewis and the News” on my mind. And, because the piano player wouldn’t play “Hip to Be Square,” I decided to ask Mr. Jeter what he thought of the band.

After Bryan told a clearly uninterested Jeter that he wasn’t a Yankees fan but really respected him as a ballplayer, I decided to tell Mr. Jeter that we had bet on whether or not he liked Huey Lewis and the News. He asked me what I said, I said that he did, and Mr. Jeter, looking nonplused, said “That’s right,” as if it was somehow possible not to like Huey Lewis and the News.

No, it’s not exactly a ringing endorsement of the band’s merits, but still something that the world should know about.

And, in other Huey Lewis news, did you know that they’re Academy Award nominees for “The Power of Love”? Huey Lewis 1, Donald Sutherland, Bruce Willis, Martin Sheen 0

22 Responses to “Derek Jeter Just Wants You To Listen to the Power of Love”

  1. That Girl, Jennifer Jeter who you all care so much about Says:

    Welcome to the bullsh!t factory, everybody!

  2. That Girl, Jennifer Jeter who you all care so much about Says:

    Oh and I’m assuming the idiots on the THTJB and talk-sports thread will see this post—kiss my @ss everyone!

  3. dailysalad Says:

    Hi, That Girl, Jennifer Jeter. Welcome to the Salad. I don’t know what to tell you. I do not know his relationship with that woman, the one everyone actually cares so much about, nor do I intend to pry or speculate. But, I reject your accusations of being “the bullsh!t factory.” 1) Because as you well know, the Bullshit factory, as an unfortunate victim of globalization, was shut down and the jobs outsourced to Venezuela, the capital of un-Americanism, and 2) I shan’t lie where Huey Lewis and the News are concerned.

    As you can no-doubt tell, this isn’t the type of stuff that we usually talk about on YS. Derek’s love of Huey Lewis was just too noteworthy–perhaps not as interesting as narratology, post-structuralism, imperialism, or urban rail, but interesting none the less.

    Still, we appreciate your comments and vitriol. Yours,

    Dash

  4. That Girl, Jennifer Jeter who you all care so much about Says:

    Hi Dash, sorry if I offended you in any way. I didnt know that about the bullshit factory actually. I was basically just trying to get back at the media. (I’ve been harassed by a lot of sourses.)

    So basically what you are saying is, you don’t know for sure if Jeter was with Minka Kelly at Starbucks in Austin. You mean that he was somewhere with Huey Lewis in Austin. Is that right? I know there was a reported sighting of him in Austin with Minka Kelly at Starbucks, yet I don’t believe that rumor. Jeter should have been in New York on that day. Anyways, if you have any info I’d be glad to hear. I’m kind of doing some detective work. I try not to let all these gossip sourses get in my way though.

    Thanks,
    Jennifer

  5. Diva Says:

    Trust me and anyone else Dash. This Jennifer Jeter is a an obsessed Derek Jeter fan who has a shrine on her myspace and actually thinks shes’ going to be his wife. She has gone from board to boards including other blogs and websites where she has been banned constantly due to her attacks on anyone who talks about Derek Jeter and Minka Kelly. She even made a blog about Derek not Dating Minka Kelly after the sightings came out. The House that Built Jeter, Popsugar, USA have all banned her . Jeters people are well aware of this person and the stalking, as well as other reports. Please don’t take this person seriously and the best thing is to ignore her like other blogs have done. Her post are always deleted because they can sometimes turn foul. The she gathers other people from her myspace to attack websites that contain any information about Jeter dating any celebrity. She really has it in for Minka Kelly. Her myspace is very disturbing and I’m sure if you contact any of the moderators of the websites mentioned, they can confirm this information.

    I enjoyed your story.

  6. Diva Says:

    Oh and she, Jennifer Jeter is maybe around 14 years old. No one takes her seriously

  7. That Girl, Jennifer Jeter who you all care so much about Says:

    Diva, listen up.

    You take me way too seriously. Honestly, you must be from THTJB. My myspace “shrine” is only there because I am into graphic design and I love to just hang around online and do that kind of stuff. I am not 14. I just turned 17 and listen, if you don’t take me seriously, thats a lie, because I LOVE to joke a lot online. I crack jokes for fun to help bring out my sens of humor. I dont attack people for saying he is with minka kelly. I attack the people who insult me like you just did. Jeter’s people do not know who I am. In fact, I’m well aware that you are just making that stuff up to bother me. How the heck can you contact Jeter’s people? Its just not right. This is the internet. I have a right to say whatever I want. I was banned from popsugar because I got in a fight on there about something not Jeter related. USA never banned me. The House that Jeter built (where you are obviously coming from) banned me because they were stupid and took my jokes too seriously.

    I made that blog about them not dating because I have a friend who knows him and I know to take these rumors with a grain of salt.

    You all took me way too seriously from the start. I ONLY and I repeat ONLY think I am Jeter’s future wife BECAUSE OF A SITUATION I HAVE BEEN THROUGH. You act like I am an insane person but I actually have a life and do this on my own time to get a kick out of what people really think. PLEASE, do us ALL afavor and get a life and stop pushing your way into mine.

    GOODBYE.

  8. That Girl, Jennifer Jeter who you all care so much about Says:

    Again, no one listen to these people “diva” and what not and what these people have against me. I really have done nothing against you at all and I’ve only tried to state my opinion. You all just took me the wrong way. Jeter’s people were never contacted about me. How would you even be able to do that? You people are creepy. Really, when I post my opinion anywhere people take it the wrong way. I am seriously not a bad person and have tried to sound as easy going as possible.

    I only post this stuff and say they arent dating because i have been through something and know more then you guys already do. Please also take into consideration, I am NOT going on talk-sports/the house that jeter built anymore. You people seriously need help.

    Chances are you wont ever hear from me again, so whatever you need to say back to me, keep it to yourself.

    Really.

  9. jetersfan24 Says:

    I really don’t know you Jennifer and am no one to pass judgement on anyone, but you need to come to terms with the fact that he IS with Minka and he probably does love her. You keep saying that you have been through something, but you never say if that “something” you’ve been through directly involves Derek. I highly doubt that it does because 17, even by his standards, is too young and is illegal if you get what I’m saying. Let him be, he is in love with her, and who knows maybe she will finally own his heart and be his Mrs. someday. If you care about him like you profess to, let him love her if that makes him happy.

  10. That Girl, Jennifer Jeter who you all care so much about Says:

    Hi Jetersfan24. Personally, half the stuff you said right there about minka kelly wasnt true. I personally DO know for a fact he isnt serious with her. My friend, who is a friend of Robinson Cano had a personal conversation with him and did say that it wsnt serious and they went on a few dates as friends. I highly doubt the starbucks rumor is true. I have been reading everyone’s comments about the situation. You exadgerate a lot. They arent in love and I know this for a fact. Another good friend of mine who goes to Yankee games every other week has been giving derek messages for me, and derek has told her himself he does think i am his type of person, and that if he is still single soon when i am 18 we have a chance. I’m honestly not making this up. This is part of that situation i have been in with him.

    I need to let you know, I have been through more then you know with Derek. You just take this dating thing way to far. He is not serious with Minka Kelly and I know this through actual people who know him. Do you know me? Do you know Derek? No. You dont know what he does and you dont know what I do. I am 17. I even am writing my first novel about the situation I am in. I dont know if you want me to prove it to you you can read a little on my site:

    http://missjenniferjeter.piczo.com

    I’m really not the terrible person you think I am.

  11. That Girl, Jennifer Jeter who you all care so much about Says:

    To the idiot on talk-sports, please stop posting this stuff and my comments on your site! I’m no “crazy” person. It seems I’m the only person that matters to you. All you want to do is intult me. Thats like your life! Really, you people arent making me feel bad—you’re just making me stronger.

  12. yankeeluv Says:

    Jennifer, no one knows what to believe from you. You say here you are 17. Your myspace says you are 23. Your story says you first saw Jeter at a game in 2005 when you were 10 years old. It is now 2008 so if my math is correct, that is 3 years since your game making you 13. Do you wonder why no one takes you seriously?

  13. Jennifer Jeter Says:

    No, I am not 13. Look, here’s the truth:

    I dont have an age. Something happened to me awhile back and as crazy as it sounds i dont really know my age. REALLY LONG STORY. Dont get me wrong I know the way I sound sounds crazy. You think of me as this crazed girl but it isnt true. I’m a sucessful person. Just let me live my life

  14. yankeeluv Says:

    “I don’t have an age”. Yep, sounds crazy all right! You must have a birth certificate that says SOMETHING. 10 years is a big difference from age 13 to age 23. Yeah, go ahead and live your life in your fantasy bubble.

  15. That Girl, Jennifer Jeter who you all care so much about Says:

    Yo, notice you DO take me seriously. I was joking around when I said that. Of course I have an age. But why on earth would i state it on the internet? Loser. Do yuo have a life or is this it?

  16. That Girl, Jennifer Jeter who you all care so much about Says:

    Really, I’m not “crazy” or anything. Its the internet. Get over it. Let me live my life, and move on with yours.

  17. Po Says:

    They arent in love and I know this for a fact. Another good friend of mine who goes to Yankee games every other week has been giving derek messages for me, and derek has told her himself he does think i am his type of person, and that if he is still single soon when i am 18 we have a chance. I’m honestly not making this up. This is part of that situation i have been in with him.
    ******************************************************

    aww to dream. When this girl day dreams, she day dreams big doesn’t she? Only 13 & perhaps pre-teens with a crush on famous celebrities have this sort of dreams. It’s evidence she’s having the same day dreams as other girls her age for the Jonas brothers and Hansen.

    This time it’s a kid with a crush on a 34 year old male who’s a classic playboy and I believe his minimum age limit of dating is at least 23, and you have got to be a knock out, hot brunette or blonde, with long legs and an awesome figure, and have some type of celebrity status doesn’t have to be an A-lister, but maybe a model or is considered a knock out gorgeous girl who’s graced a magazine, and considered extremely hot. This girl is still shaped like a little girl that wears a lot of makeup trying to look older. It’s definite she doesn’t have the look and the appeal Jeter is often linked or dates. It’s clearly she’s very young to day dream enough to believe she really does have connections with Jeter. Plus Cano is the last person Jeter would give out his personal information to if he’s serious about a girl or not. LOL! Just the other day Jeter got very verbal to Cano regarding the way he’s been playing since Jeter is the captain. I have to laugh at all this because it sounds very much like fan fictional story that you even read in comic books.

    Sorry sweetie Jeter doesn’t date girls that are illegal for him sleep in the same bed with. Sorry to inform you but you are way out of his league and need to start looking forward to high school where there will be real boys that might just ask you to the prom. Living your day dream of a man that you will never have will drive your nuts.

  18. Jennifer Jeter Says:

    And do you know me as a person? Oh no, wait, you don’t! Go, hurry up! Get a life before its too late!

  19. Jennifer Jeter Says:

    And I am not 13! My REAL official age on my birth certificate is 17. You dont know that I will never have Jeter! You dont know me! You dont know Jeter! We could know eachother for all you know!

    Really. Stop being so interested in my life. Your true colors are showing through.

  20. Jennifer Jeter Says:

    and you have got to be a knock out, hot brunette or blonde, with long legs and an awesome figure
    ____________________
    Have you seen RECENT pics of me? Like real recent pics of me? You’re describing me right there.

    Please just go away. You’re making me a stronger person with your rants.

  21. torshce Says:

    Jennifer you are not cute. IF anything you look worse in those recent pics wearing all that makeup. Putting a flat iron on your hair isn’t making you look any older. You still look your age. hahaha…at least you’re trying i give you that..and no one is worried about your life, just laughing at you. because if anyone needs a laugh they can just read your site. I’m sure Minka probably saw your pic and read all that wacked nonsense and she’s laughing at you too. Do you actually think you have what it takes for Jeter? hahah.. yes I’m sure Minka and Jeter laugh at you together if they both ever wondered on your crazy site.

  22. Jennifer Jeter Says:

    Jealous much. Whats with all the wierd names? Po, Yankeeluv, torshce, diva? You’re all one person, obviously. People come up to me these days and they say, “stay cute, girl! you’re gorgeous!” and thats because they know who i am as a person. I’m hot. You’re not. You’re an obsessed blogger with no life. Get over it. To answer your question, yes, I DO have what it takes for Jeter. I’ll prove you wrong.

    As for me, I’m outta here. And believe me, I am never to post on this site AGAIN!

    Toodles!


Comments are closed.

